Carrie Underwood and Joan Jett Collaborate on Sunday Night Football Theme

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Carrie Underwood and Joan Jett collaborate on Sunday Night Football theme
Photo by Tammie Arroyo / AFF-USA.COM

Carrie Underwood is back for the new season of NBC’s Sunday Night Football and this year she’s bringing a friend.

Carrie and iconic rock star Joan Jett will collaborate on a new rendition of the original “Waiting All Day for Sunday Night” theme, which is adapted from the rock legend’s “I Hate Myself for Loving You.” This is Carrie’s seventh season to perform that foot-stomping smash, but it’s Joan’s first, however, it isn’t the first time the pair have performed together. It was a little bit country and a little bit rock-and-roll when Joan joined Carrie on stage at this year’s CMA Music Festival.

[RELATED: CMA Music Festival’s Hottest Performances Including Carrie Underwood and Joan Jett Are Coming Into Your Home]

The country music superstar says, “I have always been a huge fan of Joan’s, and I’m thrilled that she’s joining us for the Sunday Night Football open. What better way to pay homage to the original SNF opening song than by getting to play with her on primetime’s biggest stage?”

Sunday Night Football shared a photo on Instagram of these two musical queens and wrote, “Hey Jack, it’s a fact, THE SONG’S BACK IN TOWN. @carrieunderwood and @joanjett are bringing ‘Waiting All Day’ back to SNF this season! ”

During the August 25 preseason game between the Pittsburgh Steelers and Tennessee Titans, fans will get a sneak preview of the new SNF opener. The full version will premiere during the September 8 game between the New England Patriots and the Pittsburgh Steelers.

[RELATED: [Watch] Carrie Underwood Premieres “Game On” During “Sunday Night Football”]

“When Carrie brought us this idea, we immediately embraced it as a terrific way to evolve the performance, while also celebrating the song we used in our first 10 seasons of SNF,” said Fred Gaudelli, Executive Producer of NBC’s Sunday Night Football. “We were excited when Joan agreed to join us, and we can’t wait to debut the finished product.”

2019 NBC SUNDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL SCHEDULE
Thurs. Sept. 5 NFL Kickoff  Green Bay Packers at Chicago Bears
Sun. Sept. 8 Week 1   Pittsburgh Steelers at New England Patriots
Sun. Sept. 15 Week 2   Philadelphia Eagles at Atlanta Falcons
Sun. Sept. 22 Week 3   Los Angeles Rams at Cleveland Browns
Sun. Sept. 29 Week 4 Dallas Cowboys at New Orleans Saints
*Sun. Oct. 6 Week 5   Indianapolis Colts at Kansas City Chiefs
*Sun. Oct. 13 Week 6 Pittsburgh Steelers at Los Angeles Chargers
*Sun. Oct. 20 Week 7 Philadelphia Eagles at Dallas Cowboys
*Sun. Oct. 27 Week 8 Green Bay Packers at Kansas City Chiefs
*Sun. Nov. 3 Week 9 New England Patriots at Baltimore Ravens
*Sun. Nov. 10 Week 10 Minnesota Vikings at Dallas Cowboys
*Sun. Nov. 17 Week 11  Chicago Bears at Los Angeles Rams
*Sun. Nov. 24 Week 12 Seattle Seahawks at Philadelphia Eagles
**Thurs. Nov. 28 Week 13 New Orleans Saints at Atlanta Falcons
*Sun. Dec. 1 Week 13 New England Patriots at Houston Texans
*Sun. Dec. 8 Week 14 Seattle Seahawks at Los Angeles Rams
*Sun. Dec. 15 Week 15 Minnesota Vikings at Los Angeles Chargers
*Sun. Dec. 22 Week 16 Kansas City Chiefs at Chicago Bears
*Sun. Dec. 29 Week 17 TBD

*Flex Week

** Thanksgiving Night Game