Kenny Chesney Honored with BMI President’s Award

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

Broadcast Music, Inc.®, (BMI®), recent held its 64th annual BMI Country Awards, honoring the prolific songwriting career of BMI President’s Award winner Kenny Chesney, as well as the Country Songwriter, Song and Publisher of the Year. The annual event is the genre’s oldest awards ceremony and was also an evening to celebrate the songwriters and publishers of the most-performed country songs of the past year. BMI President and CEO Mike O’Neill hosted the ceremony at the Company’s office in Nashville, along with Jody Williams, BMI Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations, Nashville.

Chesney, who was named this year’s BMI President’s Award winner, joined an elite list of songwriters across all genres including P!nk, Taylor Swift, Adam Levine, Willie Nelson, Brooks & Dunn and Gloria & Emilio Estefan. He was honored with a tribute concert from fellow songwriters and musicians, Keith Urban, Eric Church and Dean Dillion. The BMI President’s Award is presented to songwriters who have distinctly and profoundly influenced the entertainment industry. Chesney’s most performed single, “I Go Back,” was given a heartfelt performance by Urban, while Church treated the audience to the classic “Anything But Mine.” “The Tin Man,” Chesney’s first single and one he wrote alone, was performed by Dillon.

Keith Urban performed “I Go Back” in tribute to Kenny Chesney during the 64th Annual BMI Country Awards.

Eric Church sang “Anything But Mine” as Kenny Chesney looked on during the 64th Annual BMI Country Awards.