Walker Hayes Is Going To Buy Every Copy Of His New Album, boom,’ When it Releases on Dec. 8

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

Walker Hayes may be considered a newcomer to country music, but this Alabama native has been following his dream since he moved to Nashville in 2005 with his wife Laney. He released his first single, “Pants” in 2010 along with his album, Reason To Rhyme before losing his record deal with Capitol Records.

Fast forward to today and Walker Hayes is reigniting the charts with his lead single, “You Broke Up With Me”—which has already racked up over 25 million streams—and is awaiting the release of, boom, his debut album on Monument Records.

With a name like boom, we had to ask why he chose that moniker for his new album. “That’s my favorite word,” Walker tells One Country‘s Kelly Sutton. “Every time something good—like if my song climbs a number on the chart I just text all my friends and Laney and say, “Hey, it’s No. 14, boom.” So we had to name it boom. The album is merely just journal entries put to music. There are ten tracks. That was the hardest part, narrowing it down. It’s just my favorite stories.”

With the new music set to be released on Dec. 8, Walker tells One Country that he never gave up on his dream, writing songs the pertain to his life.

“They are all very specific to my life. That seems to be what people are embracing and it’s awesome. It’s so freeing as an artist to get up on stage and sing about my life and be that vulnerable to a crowd,” Walker said. “Goodness gracious, if you’d have played me “You Broke Up with Me,” and said, ‘Hey, this is gonna blow up and you’re gonna put an album out with all this weird stuff on it.” I don’t know if I’d have believed you thirteen years ago.”

Dreams do come true. But you better hurry and get your copy of Walker’s new album, because the “You Broke Up With Me” singer, just might beat you to it, after he races through the stores.

“I envision myself, the day of, going to the store and thinking that this is what all the stores look like—that my album is in all of them. I guess I hope people will buy them—they won’t from there because I’ll buy them all. I’m going to hoard every copy at my local Target and Walmart.

With parting words, Walker shares his feelings one more time. “I love to write songs about how I feel, but I genuinely can’t express how I feel about everything that is going on,” he revealed. “It didn’t happen fast, but it’s happening at such a rapid pace now.

Here we go. boom hits stores on Friday, Dec. 8.

boom. tracklisting:
1. “Beautiful” (Walker Hayes)
2. “Shut Up Kenny” (Walker Hayes, Pete Good, AJ Babcock)
3. “You Broke Up With Me” (Walker Hayes, Thomas Archer, Kylie Sackley)
4. “Halloween” feat. Nicolle Galyon (Walker Hayes, Nicolle Galyon)
5. “Dollar Store” (Walker Hayes, Scott Stepakoff)
6. “Beer In The Fridge” (Walker Hayes, Shane McAnally, Matt Jenkins, Scot Sherrod)
7. “Beckett” (Walker Hayes, Shane McAnally)
8. “Mind Candy” (Walker Hayes, Thomas Archer)
9. “Prescriptions” (Walker Hayes, Matt McGinn)
10. “Craig” (Walker Hayes)

Main photo by Chris Wilcox/One Country